Seven Cowboy Wrestlers Earn Spots on 2009-10 All-WWC Squads - University of Wyoming Athletics
Skip To Main Content


Seven Cowboy Wrestlers Earn Spots on 2009-10 All-WWC Squads

March 15, 2010


The Western Wrestling Conference has announced its All-Conference teams for the 2009-10 season. Individuals earned spots on the respective teams with their finish at the 2010 NCAA West Regional on March 6 in Brookings, S.D. All seven league schools compete at the West Regional.

Five defending West Regional individual champions successfully kept their titles and earned First Team All-WWC honors, including Wyoming's Michael Martinez (125), Northern Iowa's Trent Washington (149), UW's Shane Onufer (165) and Joe LeBlanc (184), as well as UNI's Christian Brantley (Hwt.).

12 student-athletes named All-WWC are multi-year winners, and in fact, seniors Ryan Adams (North Dakota State), Tony Mustari (Northern Colorado) and Cory VomBaur (Wyoming) each earned All-WWC recognition for their fourth season.

Additional Cowboys that earned their way onto a squad were freshman Jimmy Belleville, redshirt freshman L.J. Helbig and sophomore Alfonso Hernandez, all of whom were on the Third Team.

Team-wise, Northern Iowa and Wyoming led the way with three first-team honorees. North Dakota State placed two on the first team, while South Dakota State and Utah Valley held down one spot apiece. In all, UW led the way with seven all-conference honorees. UNI had six wrestlers earn all-league honors and UVU saw five of its grapplers earn all-conference honors. Each WWC school had at least one individual on the all-conference squads.

The Western Wrestling Conference is comprised of seven schools including the Air Force Academy, North Dakota State, Northern Colorado, Northern Iowa, South Dakota State, Utah Valley and Wyoming.


  • 125 - Michael Martinez (Wyoming), So., Pagosa Springs, Colo. (Pagosa Springs HS)*
  • 133 - Flint Ray (Utah Valley), Jr., Roy, Utah (Roy HS)
  • 141 - Ryan Adams (North Dakota State), Sr., Coon Rapids, Minn. (Coon Rapids HS)***
  • 149 - Trent Washington (Northern Iowa), So., Omaha, Neb. (Boys Town HS)*
  • 157 - Vince Salminen (North Dakota State), Jr., Billings, Mont. (Skyview HS)
  • 165 - Shane Onufer (Wyoming), So., Auburn, Wash. (Auburn HS)*
  • 174 - Jarion Beets (Northern Iowa), RJr., Cedar Rapids, Iowa (Kennedy HS)
  • 184 - Joe LeBlanc (Wyoming), So., Meeker, Colo. (Meeker HS)*
  • 197 - Tyler Sorenson (South Dakota State), Sr., Garretson, S.D. (Garretson HS)**
  • 285 - Christian Brantley (Northern Iowa), So., Homewood, Ill. (Mount Carmel HS)*

    SECOND TEAM ALL-WWC, 2009-10

  • 125 - Ben Kjar (Utah Valley), Jr., Centerville, Utah (Viewmont HS)
  • 133 - Cory VomBaur (Wyoming), Sr., Vancouver, Wash. (Evergreen HS)***
  • 141 - Cole VonOhlen (Air Force), Fr., Jackson, Minn. (Jackson County Central HS)
  • 149 - Andrey Patselov (North Dakota State), Jr., Fargo, N.D. (Fargo North HS)
  • 157 - Tyson Reiner (Northern Iowa), Sr., Mitchell, S.D. (Mitchell HS)**
  • 165 - David Bonin (Northern Iowa), RFr., Broussard, La. (Comeaux HS)
  • 174 - Tyler French (Air Force), Sr., Malta, Mont. (Malta HS)*
  • 184 - Andy O'Loughlin (Northern Iowa), RJr., Independence, Iowa (Independence HS)*
  • 197 - Drew Ross (North Dakota State), So., Fergus Falls, Minn. (Fergus Falls HS)
  • 285 - Stephen Larson (Air Force), Sr., Lakeville, Minn. (Apple Valley HS)

    THIRD TEAM ALL-WWC, 2009-10

  • 125 - Tony Mustari (Northern Colorado), Sr., Greeley, Colo. (Greeley Central HS)***
  • 133 - Derek Gillespie (Air Force), Jr., Chesapeake, Va. (Great Bridge HS)
  • 141 - Kenny Hashimoto (Northern Colorado), Sr., Thornton, Colo. (Thornton HS)**
  • 149 - Justin Morrill (Utah Valley), Jr., Logan, Utah (Mountain Crest HS)
  • 157 - Jimmy Belleville (Wyoming), Fr., Tumwater, Wash. (Black Hills HS)
  • 165 - Jeb Clark (Utah Valley), Jr., Spanish Fork, Utah (Spanish Fork HS)
  • 174 - Brad Darrington (Utah Valley), So., Shelley, Idaho (Shelley HS)
  • 184 - David Michaud (South Dakota State), Jr., Pine Ridge, S.D. (Pine Ridge HS)
  • 197 - Alfonso Hernandez (Wyoming), So., Blackfoot, Idaho (Blackfoot HS)*
  • 285 - L.J. Helbig (Wyoming), RFr., Mason, Mich. (Mason HS)

    * denotes two-time honoree
    ** denotes three-time honoree
    *** denotes four-time honoree

  • Print Friendly Version