Twenty One UW Swimmers and Divers Named MWC All-Conference - University of Wyoming Athletics
Skip To Main Content


Twenty One UW Swimmers and Divers Named MWC All-Conference

March 3, 2009


Following a successful dual meet season, and a strong performance at the 2009 Mountain West Conference Championships, a total of 21 University of Wyoming athletes were selected to the All-MWC team.

To be named to the All-MWC team, an individual must place in the top-six of an event for men and top-eight for women at the conference meet. For the relays, a team must place in the top-three of their event.

Over the four day conference meet, Wyoming won three individual championships, broke 16 school records, and had 50 performances that rank in the top-five in school history. Also, Ben Herdt was named men's and women's MWC Diving Coach of the Year, while junior Stephanie Ortiz was named Co-Diver of the Year.

The Cowboys earned another end of the year honor as well. In the final College Swim Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) poll, the Cowboy swimming and diving team earned votes for the top-25 poll, and end the season ranked 34th according to the poll.

"I am pleased with how we ended the dual season and to receive votes in the final poll," said UW head coach Tom Johnson. "Hopefully we can pick up where we left off next fall."

2009 Wyoming Swimming and Diving All-Conference Performers:

Eli Bell, Wyoming (200-yard freestyle)
Kyle Bogner, Wyoming (1-meter springboard, platform diving)
Marshall Dilworth, Wyoming (200-yard individual medley, 100-yard backstroke)
Brandon Fischer, Wyoming (100-yard breaststroke, 200-yard breaststroke)
Brett Henehan, Wyoming (400-yard individual medley)
Robbie Hilton, Wyoming (1650-yard freestyle)
Tyler Kybartas, Wyoming (200-yard butterfly)
Alex Larkin, Wyoming (200-yard breaststroke)
Tyler Miller, Wyoming (1-meter springboard, platform diving)
Mark Murdock, Wyoming (3-meter springboard, platform diving)
James Rigg, Wyoming (200-yard individual medley)
Matt Urich, Wyoming (500-yard freestyle, 100-yard butterfly)
200-yard Medley Relay (Marshall Dilworth, Alex Larkin, Matt Urich, Tommy Gregory)
400-yard Medley Relay (Marshall Dilworth, Brandon Fischer, Matt Urich, Eli Bell)

Emily Huth, Wyoming (3-meter springboard, 1-meter springboard, platform diving)
Tiffany Izatt, Wyoming (3-meter springboard)
Stephanie Ortiz, Wyoming (3-meter springboard, 1-meter springboard, platform diving)
Allie Smith, Wyoming (1-meter springboard)
Cassie Stelow, Wyoming (50-yard freestyle)
Aimee Stinson, Wyoming (500-yard freestyle)
Stephanie Vint, Wyoming (500-yard freestyle, 400-yard individual medley)
Lesley Young, Wyoming (200-yard individual medley, 100-yard breaststroke, 200-yard breaststroke)

Print Friendly Version