Cowgirl Hanna Zavecz Chosen to the MWC 10th Anniversary Women's Basketball Team - University of Wyoming Athletics
Skip To Main Content


Cowgirl Hanna Zavecz Chosen to the MWC 10th Anniversary Women's Basketball Team

Oct. 13, 2008


The Mountain West Conference announced on Monday from Las Vegas its 10th Anniversary Women's Basketball Team, as selected by a combined panel of media, institutional and conference personnel, as well as an online fan poll.

The University of Wyoming Cowgirls placed three-time All-MWC First Team selection Hanna Zavecz on the ten-player team.

In order to be eligible for consideration, candidates must have been a first-team all-Mountain West selection at least once in their careers.

A 6-0, forward, from Melbourne, Australia, Zavecz led the Cowgirls in five categories her senior year, including scoring (13.9 points per game), rebounds (6.1 rpg), assists (3.6 aspg), steals (1.6 spg), blocked shots (1.6 bpg) during the 2007-08 season. She ranked among the Top 15 in the MWC in several categories as she finished second in blocks, fourth in assist/turnover ratio, fifth in assists, seventh in scoring, 11th in steals and 12th in rebounding.

Zavecz also made her mark as one of the top players in Cowgirl history. She was a two-time State Farm Coaches' All-America Team selection and was recognized by the Associated Press by earning Honorable Mention All-America accolades this past season. She was a three-time First Team All-MWC selection, while earning Second Team All-Conference during her freshman year. She earned Defensive Player of the Year honors twice and was named the MVP of the WNIT Tournament in 2007. For her career, Zavecz ranks among the Top 10 in 12 career categories in school history. She ranks second in free throws made, attempts, assists blocked shots and steals, fifth in three-point field goal attempts, field goal attempts, sixth in three point field goals made, seventh in field goals made and ninth in rebounds. She is also one of 16 players in school history to reach the 1,000 point mark and with 1,736 points ranks fourth all-time.

Anniversary teams will be chosen for each of the 19 conference-sponsored sports during the 2008-09 seasons in celebration of the Mountain West's 10th anniversary.

Mountain West Women's Basketball 10th Anniversary Team
Player School Years Played in MWC First-Team All-Conference
Jordan Adams New Mexico 1999-2003 2002-03
Linda Fröhlich UNLV 1999-2002 1999-00; 2000-01; 2001-02
Constance Jinks UNLV 1999-2003 2001-02; 2002-03
Dionne Marsh New Mexico 2004-2008 2005-06; 2007-08
Sherry McCracklin UNLV 2001-2004; 2005-2006 2003-04; 2005-06
Leilani Mitchell Utah 2007-2008 2007-08
Kim Smith Utah 2002-2006 2002-03; 2003-04; 2004-05; 2005-06
Shona Thorburn Utah 2002-2006 2004-05; 2005-06
Erin Thorn BYU 1999-2003 2000-01; 2001-02; 2002-03
Hanna Zavecz Wyoming 2004-2008 2005-06; 2006-07; 2007-08
Bold indicates MWC Player of the Year selection
Print Friendly Version