Cowboys Handed First Conference Loss in Northern Iowa - University of Wyoming Athletics
Skip To Main Content


Cowboys Handed First Conference Loss in Northern Iowa

Jan. 18, 2008


The University of Wyoming Cowboy Wrestling team suffered their first Western Wrestling Conference loss of the season Friday night as they fell to the Northern Iowa Panthers 40-0 at the McLeod Center in Cedar Falls. Wyoming falls to 1-6 overall and 0-1 in WWC action while UNI improves to 2-5-1 overall and 1-0 in the WWC.

"We just couldn't score when we needed to score tonight," UW head coach Steven Suder said. "There were some close matches that we just weren't able to get critical points when we had to have them."

UW junior Mikel Hoopes got an early 6-1 lead over UNI's Andy O'Loughlin, but O'Loughlin battled his way back to tie the match at 9-9 in the closing seconds of the third period. O'Loughlin then won the match 19 seconds into the overtime with a sudden victory takedown.

Wyoming's Cody Grant also came up short of a victory losing to Caleb Flores 3-2. Grant earned two escapes put was unable to takedown Flores to get the win.

UW senior Kyle Morrow lost his match 2-1 to Alex Dolly who earned both his points by a stalling foul and an escape in the third period.

"We had four matches that we were so close to winning but could not finish," Suder continued. "We are working on the right things in practice, but we are not executing when we compete. I am glad we have two more weeks to prepare for our next conference dual so we can continue to go back to work and hammer some of these things out."

Wyoming will have next week off before heading to Fargo, North Dakota to take on the Bison February 1. The dual will begin at 7 p.m.

FINAL RESULTS: UNI 40, Wyoming 0

197 - Andrew Anderson (UNI) pinned Dan Barrone (WYO), 6:49
285 - Dustin Bauman (UNI) pinned Jason Still (WYO), 5:38
125 - Caleb Flores (UNI) dec. Cody Grant (WYO), 3-2
133 - Josh Baldridge (UNI) dec. Cory VomBaur (WYO), 4-1
141 - C.J. Ettelson (UNI) tech. fall Brandon Gifford (WYO), 16-0
149 - Charlie Ettelson (UNI) maj. dec. Cody Chipperfield (WYO), 12-4
157 - Tyson Reiner (UNI) dec. 8-1 Dane Fuhrman (WYO), 8-1
165 - Moza Fay (UNI) maj. dec. Eric Coxbill (WYO), 11-3
174 - Alex Dolly (UNI) dec. Kyle Morrow (WYO), 2-1
184 - Andy O'Loughlin (UNI) dec. Mikel Hoopes (WYO) 11-9 SV

Print Friendly Version