Wyoming Ends Season in Eighth at the MWC Men's Golf Championship - University of Wyoming Athletics
Skip To Main Content


Wyoming Ends Season in Eighth at the MWC Men's Golf Championship

April 28, 2007

TUCSON, Ariz. -

Complete Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The Wyoming Cowboy golf team finished their season in eighth place of nine teams on Saturday at the 2007 Mountain West Conference Men's Golf Championship in Tucson, Ariz..

The Cowboys shot a final round of 299 (+15) at the Tucson National Catalina Course, which measures 7,136 yards and plays to a par of 71. UW's 54-hole total was 904 (+52).

BYU fired a 286 (+2) for a total of 846 (-6) to capture the team title by one-stroke over UNLV. The Cougars entered the final round with an eight stroke lead over the Rebels, but UNLV posted the days best team score at 279 (-5), but fell one-stroke shy of forcing a team playoff. TCU finished in third place with a 854 (-2) total after carding a 285 (+1) in the final round. Colorado State placed fourth at 860 (+8), while San Diego State finished fifth at 863 (+11). New Mexico placed sixth at 865 (+13), followed by Utah in seventh at 891, Wyoming in eighth at 904 and Air Force in ninth at 924.

The individual title came down to a playoff between TCU's Robby Ormand and San Diego State's Adam Porzak. Ormand and Porzak entered the final round tied for first and both shot an even-par 71 in the third round to total 207 (-6) for the tournament. Ormand defeated Porzak on the playoff hole after sinking a six-foot putt for par to capture medalist honors. Daniel Summerhays of BYU placed third with an even-par 71 today and a 54-hole total of 209 (-4).

"From where we started the spring to where we ended today I'd say that we've closed the gap as far as how we can compete against the rest of the MWC," said Cowboy head coach Joe Jensen. "We were ranked last by a large margin heading into this event, but improved on that with our finish here.

"Jeff (Franks) played well today, Niel (King) was solid but not flashy, Ryne (Paulson) played better and Brandon (McCoy) gave us a good round for a freshman. We'll practice hard this summer and the future looks good for Wyoming Cowboy Golf."

Wyoming's best round of the day came from senior Jeff Franks who scored 72 (+1) and finished tied for 24th individually with a score of 220 (+7). Franks recorded an eagle on the par-5 no. 10 hole to fuel his low final round.

The Cowboys' best event finish came from redshirt senior Niel King who tied for 20th place in the field of 45 golfers. King totaled 218 (+5) for the event and shot 75 (+4) on the final day.

Other third round scores for the Pokes included a pair of 76 (+5) marks from freshman Brandon McCoy and junior Ryne Paulson, while freshman Max Curnow scored 84 (+13).

The MWC announced its 2007 Men's Golf All-Conference team and individual awards at the conclusion of its championship on Saturday. New Mexico senior Charlie Beljan was selected as player of the year, while BYU's Rob Fillmore was named freshman of the year. Coach of the year honors went to Bruce Brockbank of BYU.

Beljan ranked fourth in the Mountain West Conference with a 70.69 stroke average. He recorded six top-10 finishes in 2006-07, including three tournament titles, and ranks 10th nationally according to GolfWeek.com. Beljan was named MWC Freshman of the Year in 2004 and is the first Lobo to capture conference golfer of the year accolades since Michael Letzig in 2003.

BYU's Rob Fillmore garnered freshman of the year honors after posting a 73.27 stroke average this season. Fillmore collected two top 10 finishes this season, including an eighth place outing at this year's MWC Championship. He is the second Cougar to capture MWC Freshman of the Year honors and the first since Daniel Summerhays in 2003.

BYU's Bruce Brockbank captured coach of the year honors for the second straight season after leading the Cougars to a top 20 national ranking according to both GolfStat.com and GolfWeek.com. This is Brockbank's third coach of the year honor since 1999.

Player of the Year
Charlie Beljan, Sr., New Mexico

Freshman of the Year
Rob Fillmore, BYU

Coach of the Year
Bruce Brockbank, BYU

All-Conference Team
Tyler Goulding, Sr., Air Force
Daniel Summerhays, Jr., BYU
Clay Ogden, Sr., BYU
Jake Ellison, Sr., BYU
Zen Brown, So., Colorado State
Charlie Beljan, Sr., New Mexico
Aaron Goldberg, Jr., San Diego State
Jarred Texter, Jr., UNLV
Seung-su Han, So., UNLV
Dustin Pimm, Jr., Utah
Robby Ormand, So., TCU

Print Friendly Version